According to the Texas department of Insurance, the liability limits for auto insurance will increase on January 1, 2011, to $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. Right now the minimum coverage amount required by the state’s financial responsibility law is $25,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
FYI, Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to be able to pay for the auto accidents they cause. Most drivers do this by buying automobile liability insurance. Liability insurance pays to repair or replace the other driver’s car and pays other people’s medical expenses. It does not pay to repair or replace your car or for your injuries.
So what does this mean to you, well be on the look out for changes in your current premium caused by the change in liability limits. If your premium goes up because of the change in limits, give us a call we can certainly take a look at premiums different carriers are charging and help you decide what is best for your current situation.